For Immediate Release:

April 8, 2017



Roanoke finishes inaugural season in ninth place with 43 points

MACON, GA – The Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs allowed the game’s first four goals as they fell to the Macon Mayhem, 6-3, in the season finale on Saturday night at the Macon Coliseum. Roanoke finished its inaugural season at ninth-place in the ten-team SPHL.

Macon got on the board with a pair of one-timer goals in the first. Matt Summers set up Jake Trask with a backhanded pass for the first goal and Trask fed Collin MacDonald on a two-on-one break to make it 2-0

The Mayhem extended the advantage with two more in the second as Summers and Stephen Pierog each cashed in for goals. Roanoke got itself on the board late in the period while working on the power play. Evan Schultz put a shot on net that Troy Passingham stopped but Dmytro Babenko hacked at the rebound and squeaked it into the net, cutting the deficit to 4-1.

Macon snagged two more early in the third, first when Matt Johnson snuck a one-timer through Joey Ballmer from the left circle. Chris Joseph later was the recipient of an awkward bounce in front of Ballmer, pushing the lead to 6-1.

The Dawgs did not go quietly however as later in the period, Steve Mele found Mike Driscoll in the slot for a one-timer that Driscoll hammered past Passingham. Roanoke got its last goal with only 64 seconds remaining as Zach Tatrn was dragged down from behind but managed to muscle the puck over Passingham’s shoulder, bringing the score to 6-3.

Nick Schneider totaled two assists, Babenko, Tatrn and Driscoll scored and Ballmer made 42 saves on 48 shots.

The Rail Yard Dawgs finished their inaugural season at 17-30-9. Roanoke checked in as the ninth-place team in the SPHL with 43 points.

2017-18 Rail Yard Dawgs season tickets are on sale now! Seats can be reserved by visiting the Rail Yard Dawgs office inside of the Berglund Center or over the phone at 540-344-3294.