ROANOKE, VA – Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs head coach Sam Ftorek announced on Thursday his roster for Friday’s Opening Night game against the Knoxville Ice Bears. The roster features 18 signed players and includes three more signed to three-game tryouts. It is made up of 10 forwards, six defensemen and two goaltenders.



Jackson Brewer

Mike Driscoll

David Gandara

Peter Gintoli

Tyler Gjurich

Massimo Lamacchia

Steve Mele

Mike Moroso

Jason Popek

Michael Turner


Travis Armstrong

Tim Boyle

Bryan Dallaire

Cory Melkert

Nick Schneider

Phill Tesoriero


Brandon Anderson

Ryan de Melo


Defensemen Igor Stibysh and Cody Walsh have been signed to three-game tryout contracts, as has forward Dmytro Babenko.

Ten of those on the Opening Night roster appeared in the SPHL in 2015-16, five appeared in the ECHL and seven will be making their professional debut.

The Rail Yard Dawgs open their inaugural season Friday night at the Berglund Center against the Knoxville Ice Bears. Gates open at 5 PM and the puck is scheduled to drop at 7:05 PM. The Opening Night PreParty on the Berglund Center Plaza begins at 5 PM, featuring live music from Seven Mile Ford from 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM.

Season tickets and other packages are on sale now! Contact the Rail Yard Dawgs office at 540-344-DAWG (3294) or stop by Berglund Center to get yours today. Single-game tickets can be purchased at Berglund Center Box Office, online at theberglundcenter.com or by phone at 1-877-482-8496.